The Beginning of a Dream

I was around 11 or 12 years old the first time I watched the shows ‘Long Way Round’ and ‘Long Way Down’ and I have wanted to ride ever since, and even more than ride, I wanted to ride around the world.

I am now 15 and my dream has started to become a reality.  My dad has recently purchased a Yamaha Super Tenere and I have had the pleasure of being able to ride with him as a passenger.  He says that he never would have gotten an Adventure Tour bike if we hadn’t watched ‘Long Way Down’ and ‘Long Way Round’ because that is what inspired him to get one.

Together we have done a weekend trip from Vancouver, British Columbia over to Vancouver Island, I don’t remember where exactly we went but I do know we spent roughly 6 hours on the bike each day and boy did I love it!

VancouverIslandOnMotorcycle

In the front is my dad and on the back is me on his Yamaha Super Tenere on Vancouver Island

More recently we went out to Squamish, not to do anything in particular but just to go for a ride.  We even did a little off-road which, as a passenger, was very bumpy. Luckily I didn’t fall off.  Once out there we stopped for some lunch at White Spot, it was around 34° Celsius outside so as you can expect we saw lots of other motorcycles, including my dream bike, the BMW R1200GS.

Adventure on a motorcycle is one great thing, you get a completely different feel for things then you do in a car, it’s a feeling you have to experience and one that you can’t get from anything else.  This past weekend I got to go dirt biking for the first time through the Honda Red Riders program and that experience is one that I will never forget.  I had so much fun, it was a completely different feeling then riding as a passenger on a motorcycle.

Me On A Dirtbike

Me on a CRF230 doing the Honda Red Riders course, the bike was too small for me as I am 6 feet tall

Shows like ‘Race to Dakar’ and ‘Dust to Glory’ have made me, along with traveling, want to compete in races like the Baja 1000 and the Dakar Rally, hopefully one day I will be able to, but that wont be for a while.

My dad has just started out doing Adventure Tour trips on his Yamaha Super Tenere, the first one being a 2 week trip he did down to L.A and back along the coast and through the mountains.  When I am older and have my licence and a bike of my own I hope to join him on trips like these and on my own journeys.  Journeys like going across Canada, throughout North and South America and eventually my dream of going around the world.

Leave a Reply

