The Motorcyle Shows and Movies That Created my Dream

I’ve just watched ‘Long Way Round’ and ‘Long Way Down’ for the 3rd or so time now, and the idea to write a post about the motorcycle shows and movies that inspired me and created my dream, just popped into my head.  These Shows and Movies are ones that I will never forget and will continue to watch multiple times.

-Long Way Round                                                                                                                                                 The first adventure motorcycle show that I ever watched was Long Way Round featuring Charley Boorman and Ewen McGregor.  This show was in fact the first I had ever heard about adventure motorcycles and it had me very intrigued.  I had no idea there were people out there that road around the world on motorcycles.

-Long Way Down                                                                                                                                                   After watching Long Way Round I just wanted more…  So I decided to watch Long Way Down, and it was just as good!  It was then that I decided I eventually wanted to ride around the world and become an adventure rider.

-Race to Dakar                                                                                                                                                       After a while I decided to do a search to find out if Charley and Ewen had done any other adventure shows, this is when I found Race to Dakar. The show followed Charley as he raced in the Dakar Rally, it would have been cool if Ewen had as well but he didn’t. It was here that I decided something else I eventually wanted to do was race in motorcycle rallies similar to the Dakar Rally, and eventually the Dakar itself.

-Extreme Frontiers                                                                                                                                                 Extreme Frontiers was actually a show that my dad was watching and I decided to start watching it with him, it was nice to watch Charley go on another journey and to watch it with my dad as we had also watched the 3 series mentioned above together.  It was very cool to see Charley travel across my home country, Canada.  Would have been even cooler to actually see him in Vancouver but that didn’t happen.

-Races to Places                                                                                                                                                 Races to Places is a more recent series that I found through my YouTube “What To Watch” page under Recommended.  I am very glad it popped up there because it is a very good series and is still on going!  It features someone named Lyndon Poskitt and there are 3 seasons of the show so far which can be found on the Adventure Spec YouTube channel.  Lyndon set off on his journey in May of 2014 and will ride through 50 countries and 6 continents.  His route is one similar to the one that I would love to take on my dream journey.

-Dust to Glory                                                                                                                                                         Dust to Glory is an older film documentary from 2005 on the Baja 1000.  I had heard of the Baja 1000 before but didn’t actually know what it was until now.  This film has made me want to race even more and has just added to the dream.  I think that if I did decide to start racing in rallies, the Baja 1000 would be one of the first ones I did. Before that though, I would probably want to do the San Felipe 250 and the Baja 500 just so that I can be as experienced and ready for the 1000 as possible.  Yes it is just a dream right now but one that will hopefully come true.

So there they are, the 6 shows and movies that helped create my dream and inspired me to want to become an adventure rider, ride around the world, and race in rallies.  I hope that I continue to find shows and movies to watch that will further inspire me, but until I do I will just have to keep re-watching these ones.  I highly recommend watching all of them if you haven’t before because they are just fantastic.

Leave a Reply

